Slide 1
Slide 2
Slide 3
Slide 3
Slide 3

previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow



ACHEP is a biennial international conference series on High Energy Physics held in African Institutes. The ACHEP brings together specialized scientists in the field of High Energy Physics from universities and research institutes all over the world on African grounds to discuss current developments and new trends, results, and perspectives in this field. The primary goal of ACHEP meetings is to encourage young African researchers and HEP experts to express and discuss new ideas. Please note that the conference is exclusively an in-person event.

The first ACHEP
in Morocco

The first edition of the African Conference on High Energy Physics (2023) will be hosted in Morocco and organized by the Rabat-Salé-Kénitra Regional University Consortium. It is with great pleasure to welcome all our HEP colleagues to this important event taking place from 23 to 27 October, 2023.

This event is organized by the Rabat-Salé-Kénitra Regional University Consortium and has the full support of the Moroccan Ministry of Higher education, the University Mohammed V in Rabat and the University Ibn Tofail in Kénitra, along with the support of the Centre National pour la Recherche Scientifique et Technique and the Hassan II Academy of Science and Technology.

Activities of the conference will take place in Rabat and Kénitra. Rabat is the stunning capital city, the second largest city in the country. It is one of the fourth imperial cities of Morocco and many parts of the city are listed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Kénitra, constitutes a very important biological and natural reserve in Morocco and has a great history and full of culture. The region is well-connected to the other part world and welcomes numerous airports to Rabat- Salé international airport and offer a large selection of hotels. The venue for ACHEP 2023 is Kénitra University and Rabat University. see Map.

Important Dates

Early Bird Registration Deadline
September 15, 2023
Registration Deadline
September 30, 2023
Notification of Acceptance
July 31, 2023
Abstracts Submission Deadline
July 20, 2023
Conference Dates
October 23-27, 2023
  • Local Organizing Committee
  • International Advisory Committee
  • Scientific Committee
Mohamed Gouighri (co-Chair) (U. Ibn-Tofail, Kénitra)
Yahya Tayalati (co-Chair) (U. Mohammed V, Rabat)
Rachid Benbrik (U. Cadi Ayyad, Marrakech)
Driss Benchekroun (U. Hassan II, Casablanca)
El Mahjoub Chakir (U. Ibn-Tofail, Kénitra)
Lalla Btissam Drissi (U. Mohammed V, Rabat)
Alaeddine Lahbass (U. Mohammed V, Rabat)
Fairouz Malek (CNRS, LPSC- Grenoble, France)
Bouzid Manaut (U. Sultan Moulay Sliman, Beni Mellal)
Idriss Moumen (U. Ibn-Tofail, Kénitra)
Abdelilah Moussa (U. Mohammed 1er Oujda)
Larbi Rahili (U. Ibn-Zohr, Agadir)
Lydia Roos (CNRS, LPNHE-Paris, France)
Ursula Bassler (CNRS/IN2P3, France)
Rajaa Cherkaoui El Moursli (U. Mohammed V, Rabat, Morocco)
Atish Dabholkar (ICTP, Italy)
Abdelhak Djouadi (U. de Granada, Spain)
Latifa Elouadrhiri (Jefferson Lab, Virginia, USA)
Belen Gavela (U. Autonoma de Madrid, Spain)
Fabiola Gianotti (CERN, Switzerland)
Kaoru Hagiwara (KEK, Japan)
Mohammed Hassan (TWAS, Italy)
Beate Heinemann (DESY, Germany)
Andreas Hoecker (ATLAS, CERN, Switzerland)
Mahouton Norbert Hounkonnou (U. of Abomey-Cavali, Benin)
Pham Quang Hung (U. Of Virginia, USA)
Karl Jakobs (U. of Freiburg, Germany)
Peter Jenni (U. of Freiburg, Germany and CERN)
Takaaki Kajita (U. of Tokyo, Japan) – Nobel Prize in Physics
Patricia McBride (Fermilab, USA)
Rabinda Nath Mohapatra (U. of Maryland, USA)
Stefano Moretti (U. of Southampton, UK)
Steve Muanza (Commissariat Générale à l’Energie Atomique, RDC)
Azwinndini Muronga (U. Mandela, South Africa)
Chris Parkes (LHCb, U. of Manchester, UK)
Fernando Quevedo (U. of Cambridge, UK)
Lisa Randall (Harvard U. USA)
Nathan Seiberg (Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, USA)
Qaisar Shafi (University of Delaware, USA)
Yifang Wang (IHEP, China)
Yasmine Amhis (IJCLab, France and CERN)
Abdeslam Arhrib (U. Abdelmalek Essaadi, Morocco)
Laura Baudis (Zurich U., Switzerland)
Rachid Benbrik (U. Cadi Ayyad, Marrakech)
Driss Benchekroun (U. Hassan II, Casablanca)
Céline Boehm (Sydney U., Australia)
Lalla Btissam Drissi (U. Mohammed V, Rabat)
Rajaa Cherkaoui El Moursli (U. Mohammed V, Morocco)
Paschal Coyle (CPPM CNRS/IN2P3, France)
Francesca Di Lodovico (King’s College London, UK)
Steven Goldfarb (U. of Melbourne, Australia and CERN)
Leïla Haegel (IP2I Lyon, CNRS, France)
Samira Hassani (CEA-IRFU, Saclay, France)
Evelina Mihova Gersabeck (U. of Manchester, UK)
Mohamed Gouighri (U. Ibn-Tofail, Kénitra)
Karl Jakobs (U. of Freiburg, Germany)
Peter Jenni (U. of Freiburg, Germany and CERN)
Shaaban Khalil  (Zewail City of Science and Technology, Egypte)
Fairouz Malek (CNRS, LPSC-Grenoble, France)
Emilie Maurice (Institut Polytechnique de Paris, LLR, France)
Rachid Mazini (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
Bruce Mellado (Witwatersrand U. & iThemba LABS, South Africa)
Shoaib Munir (ICTP-EAIFR, Rwanda)
Salah Nasri (U. of United Arab Emirates, UAE)
Sarah Porteboeuf (Université Blaise Pascal de Clermont-Ferrand, France)
Lydia Roos (CNRS, LPNHE-Paris, France)
Justine Serrano (CPPM, Marseille, France)
Yahya Tayalati (U. Mohammed V, Rabat)

Organized by


Hosted by

Endorsed by

Organizations, Institutions and Laboratories